Clare Martin wins women’s Lincoln 10K

2221 women completed the Lincoln 10K. However, only one of them could cross the finish line first, and that person was Claire Martin from Telford Athletics Club, with a chip time of 35:10. Sporting Lincolnshire spoke to her about her running career to date and defending her title next year.

How long have you been running for?
I started running when I was 10 and I’m now 42 so I’ve been running for quite a few years! I’ve always ran for my home town club Telford Athletics Club.
Which would you consider your highest achievement in running?
My highest achievement is probably when I represented Great Britain at the 2000m steeplechase in 2003. Other achievements I rate highly is when I finished 20th lady in the 2014 London marathon in 2 hours 50 minutes. It’s my first and only marathon so far. I’m also the current British and Irish masters cross country champion.
Have you done the Lincoln 10K before, and how challenging did you find the course?
It was the first time I’ve done Lincoln 10K. It was recommended to me by a friend. It was a great course, nice and flat and loads of support throughout.
How much training did you do in preparation for it?
I normally run 40-50 mile a week, but the Lincoln race came at the end of my cross country season so I was actually having a few easier weeks of training.
Were you confident of winning throughout the race?
I was confident of winning the race after about 2-3 mile when I took the lead. I was running with local athlete Abbie up until this point.
Will you be back to defend your title next year?
I would love to come back next year to defend my title. It was a great course with a great atmosphere.
To see Clare’s race times and statistics to date, visit: http://www.runbritainrankings.com/runners/profile.aspx?athleteid=656508
You can also read an interview with the winner of the men’s race, Joe Wilkinson
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

